Regional Festivals

In addition to the Competition & Festival in New York City each May, Essentially Ellington co-produces non-competitive, education-focused festivals designed to offer high school jazz bands of all levels the opportunity to perform the music of Duke Ellington and other seminal big band composers and arrangers at various locations across the country. Participating bands receive professional feedback from JALC clinicians and other jazz professionals in their own backyard. Regional Festivals will be held at the following locations:

St. Louis, MO
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Webster Groves High School
For more information, please contact Phil Dunlap at phil@jazzstl.org or
(314) 289-4033.

Arlington, VA
Saturday, January 24, 2015
Yorktown High School
Click HERE for more information.

Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Saturday, February 7, 2015
Broward Community College
For more information, please contact Karen Dorsey at info@eefljazz.com or (954) 214-0320.

Ithaca, NY
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Ithaca College
Click HERE for more information.

Provo, UT
Friday, February 20, 2015
Brigham Young University
Click HERE for more information.

Sun Prairie, WI
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Sun Prairie High School
Click HERE for more information.

Chapel Hill, NC
Saturday, February 21, 2015
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, NC)
Click HERE for more information.

Mesa, AZ
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Mesa Arts Center
Click HERE for more information.

New Orleans, LA
Saturday, February 28, 2015
University of New Orleans
For more information, please contact Nicole Kurtz at nkurtz@thenojo.com or (330) 780-9139.

Philadelphia, PA
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Temple University
For more information, please contact Leslie Cochran at cochranl@temple.edu or (215) 204-8304.

Greenwich, CT
Saturday, March 21, 2015
Greenwich High School
For more information, please contact John Yoon at john_yoon@greenwich.k12.ct.us or (203) 625.8025.

Livingston, NJ
Saturday, April 11, 2015
Newark Academy
For more information, please contact Julius Tolentino at jtolentino@newarka.edu or (973) 992-7000, ex. 224.

East Lansing, MI
Saturday, April 18, 2015
Michigan State University

Edwardsville, IL
Friday, April 24, 2015
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
For more information, please contact Rick Haydon at rhaydon@siue.edu or (618) 650-2355.