Regional Festivals

In addition to the Competition & Festival in New York City each May, Essentially Ellington co-produces non-competitive, education-focused festivals designed to offer high school jazz bands of all levels the opportunity to perform the music of Duke Ellington and other seminal big band composers and arrangers at various locations across the country. Participating bands receive professional feedback from JALC clinicians and other jazz professionals in their own backyard. 2017 Regional Festivals will take place at the following locations:

St. Louis, MO
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Webster Groves High School
For more information, please contact Andy Ament at andy@jazzstl.org or (314) 881-3093.

Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Saturday, February 4, 2017
Dillard Center for the Arts
For more information, please contact Karen Dorsey at info@eefljazz.com or (954) 214-0320.

Arlington, VA
Saturday, February 11, 2017
Yorktown High School
Click HERE for more information.

Sun Prairie, WI
Saturday, February 18, 2017
Sun Prairie High School
Click HERE for more information.

Chapel Hill, NC
Saturday, February 18, 2017
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Click HERE for more information.

Cincinnati, OH
Saturday, February 18, 2017
University of Cincinnati
For more information, please contact Jennifer Grantham at jennifer.grantham@gmail.com .

Provo, UT
Friday, March 3, 2017
Brigham Young University
Click HERE for more information.

Philadelphia, PA
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Temple University
For more information, please contact Bart Dunn at bart.dunn@temple.edu or (215) 204-8306.

Greenwich, CT
Saturday, March 25, 2017
Greenwich High School
For more information, please contact John Yoon at john_yoon@greenwich.k12.ct.us or (203) 625.8025.

Edwardsville, IL
Friday, March 24, 2017
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
For more information, please contact Rick Haydon at rhaydon@siue.edu or (618) 650-2355.

East Lansing, MI
Saturday, April 22, 2017
Michigan State University
For more information, please contact Max Colley at colleym@msu.edu or (517) 432-4837.

Mesa, AZ
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Mesa Arts Center
For more information, please contact engagement@mesaartscenter.com or (480) 644-6540.

Livingston, NJ
Sunday, April 30, 2017
Newark Academy
For more information, please contact Julius Tolentino at jtolentino@newarka.edu or (973) 992-7000, ex. 224.