Regional Festivals

In addition to the Competition & Festival in New York City each May, Essentially Ellington co-produces non-competitive, education-focused festivals designed to offer high school jazz bands of all levels the opportunity to perform the music of Duke Ellington and other seminal big band composers and arrangers at various locations across the country. Participating bands receive professional feedback from JALC clinicians and other jazz professionals in their own backyard. 2018 Regional Festivals will take place at the following locations:

St. Louis, MO
Thursday, January 11, 2018
University of Missouri – St. Louis
For more information, please contact Andy Ament at andy@jazzstl.org or (314) 881-3093.

Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, January 18-19, 2018
University of Nevada – Las Vegas
For more information, please contact Dave Loeb at dave.loeb@unlv.edu or (702) 895-3739.

Arlington, VA
Saturday, January 27, 2018
Yorktown High School
Click HERE for more information.

Sun Prairie, WI
Saturday, February 17, 2018
Sun Prairie High School
Click HERE for more information.

Provo, UT
Saturday, February 17, 2018
Brigham Young University
Click HERE for more information.

Chapel Hill, NC
Saturday, February 24, 2018
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Click HERE for more information.

Philadelphia, PA
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Temple University
For more information, please contact Eric Schweingruber at eschwein@temple.edu.

Greenwich, CT
Saturday, March 24, 2018
Greenwich High School
For more information, please contact John Yoon at john_yoon@greenwich.k12.ct.us or (203) 625.8025.

Edwardsville, IL
Friday, March 30, 2018
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
For more information, please contact Rick Haydon at rhaydon@siue.edu or (618) 650-3900.

East Lansing, MI
Saturday, April 21, 2018
Michigan State University
For more information, please contact Max Colley at colleym@msu.edu or (517) 432-4837.

Mesa, AZ
Monday, March 26, 2018
Mesa Arts Center
For more information, please contact engagement@mesaartscenter.com or (480) 644-6540.

Livingston, NJ
Saturday, April 14, 2018
Newark Academy
For more information, please contact Julius Tolentino at jtolentino@newarka.edu or (973) 992-7000, ex. 224.

Orlando, FL
Sunday, April 22, 2018
Dr. Phillips Center
For more information, please contact Dana Brazil at dana@drphillipscenter.org or 407-992-1742.