Regional Festivals

In addition to the Competition & Festival in New York City each May, Essentially Ellington co-produces non-competitive, education-focused festivals designed to offer high school jazz bands of all levels the opportunity to perform the music of Duke Ellington and other seminal big band composers and arrangers at various locations across the country. Participating bands receive professional feedback from JALC clinicians and other jazz professionals in their own backyard.  2016 Regional Festivals and locations will be held in the following locations:

St. Louis, MO
Thursday, January 13, 2016
Webster Groves High School
For more information, please contact Phil Dunlap at phil@jazzstl.org or (314) 289-4033.

Rochester, NY
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Eastman School of Music
For more information, please contact Doug Stone at Douglas.Stone@RCSDK12.org or (585) 242-7682 ext. 1170.

Arlington, VA
Saturday, January 23, 2016
Yorktown High School
Click HERE for more information.

Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Saturday, February 6, 2016
Dillard Center for the Arts
For more information, please contact Karen Dorsey at info@eefljazz.com or (954) 214-0320.

Provo, UT
Friday, February 19, 2016
Brigham Young University
Click HERE for more information.

Sun Prairie, WI
Saturday, February 20, 2016
Sun Prairie High School
Click HERE for more information.

Chapel Hill, NC
Saturday, February 20, 2016
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, NC)
Click HERE for more information.

Cincinnati, OH
Saturday, February 27, 2016
University of Cincinnati
For more information, please contact Rose Hensley at rose.hensley@uc.edu.

Philadelphia, PA
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Temple University
For more information, please contact Leslie Cochran at cochranl@temple.edu or (215) 204-8304.

Greenwich, CT
Saturday, March 19, 2016
Greenwich High School
For more information, please contact Colin Walters at Colin_Walters@greenwich.k12.ct.us or (203) 625.8025.

Edwardsville, IL
Friday, April 1, 2016
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
For more information, please contact Rick Haydon at rhaydon@siue.edu or (618) 650-2355. 

East Lansing, MI
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Michigan State University
For more information, please contact Max Colley at colleym@msu.edu or (517) 432-4837. 

Livingston, NJ
Saturday, April 23, 2016
Newark Academy
For more information, please contact Julius Tolentino at jtolentino@newarka.edu or (973) 992-7000, ex. 224.

Mesa, AZ
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Mesa Arts Center
Click HERE for more information.