Regional Festivals

 

 

In addition to the Competition & Festival in New York City each May, Essentially Ellington co-produces non-competitive, education-focused festivals designed to offer high school jazz bands of all levels the opportunity to perform the music of Duke Ellington and other seminal big band composers and arrangers at various locations across the country. Participating bands receive professional feedback from JALC clinicians and other jazz professionals in their own backyard. 2019 Regional Festivals will take place at the following locations:

Winchester, VA 
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Shenandoah Conservatory
For more information, please contact Matt Niess at  mattniess@mac.com or (703) 732-2639

Las Vegas, NV 
Thursday, January 31- Friday, February 1, 2019
University of Nevada – Las Vegas
Click HERE for more information.

St. Louis, MO 
Thursday, February 7, 2019
University of Missouri – St. Louis
For more information, please contact Andy Ament at andy@jazzstl.org or (314) 881-3093.

Chicago, IL
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Whitney Young High School
Click HERE  for more information.

Sun Prairie, WI 
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Sun Prairie High School
Click HERE for more information.

Provo, UT 
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Brigham Young University
Click HERE for more information.

Chapel Hill, NC 
Saturday, February 16, 2019
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Click HERE for more information.

Cincinnati, OH 
Saturday, February 23, 2019
University of Cincinnati
Click HERE for more information.

Orlando, FL 
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Dr. Phillips Center
For more information, please contact Laura Peete laura.peete@drphillipscenter.org

Philadelphia, PA 
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Temple University
For more information, please contact Eric Schweingruber at eschwein@temple.edu.

Greenwich, CT 
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Greenwich High School
For more information, please contact John Yoon at john_yoon@greenwich.k12.ct.us or (203) 625-8025

Mesa, AZ 
Monday, March 25, 2019
Mesa Arts Center
For more information, please contact engagement@mesaartscenter.com or (480) 644-6540.

Houston, TX 
Saturday, March 30, 2019
Texas Southern University
For more information, please contact Belinda Gardner at jbelinda@jazzhouston.org

Edwardsville, IL 
Friday, April 5, 2019
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
For more information, please contact Rick Haydon at rhaydon@siue.edu or (618) 650-3900.

Livingston, NJ 
Saturday, April 13, 2019
Newark Academy
For more information, please contact Julius Tolentino at jtolentino@newarka.edu or (973) 992-7000, ex. 224.

East Lansing, MI 
Saturday, April 13, 2019
Michigan State University
For more information, please contact Max Colley at colleym@msu.edu or (517) 432-4837.