Regional Festivals

*Video Courtesy of the Dr. Phillips Center

In addition to the Competition & Festival in New York City each May, Essentially Ellington co-produces non-competitive, education-focused festivals designed to offer high school jazz bands of all levels the opportunity to perform the music of Duke Ellington and other seminal big band composers and arrangers at various locations across the country. Participating bands receive professional feedback from JALC clinicians and other jazz professionals in their own backyard.

2020 Regional Festivals will take place at the following locations:

Winchester, VA
Saturday, January 20, 2020
Shenandoah Conservatory
For more information, please contact Matt Niess at mattniess@mac.com or (703) 732-2639.

St. Louis, MO
Friday, January 30, 2020
University of Missouri
For more information, please contact Andy Ament at andy@jazzstl.org or (314) 881-3093.

Las Vegas, NV 
Friday, January 31- Saturday, February 1, 2020
University of Nevada – Las Vegas
For more information, please contact Dave Loeb at essentiallyellington.vegas@joi-lv.org

Casper, WY
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Casper College-Kinser Jazz Festival
For more information, please contact Joshua Mietz at joshuamietz@caspercollege.edu

Sun Prairie, WI
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Sun Prairie High School
For more information, please contact Steve Sveum at sjsveum@sunprairieschools.org.

Provo, UT 
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Brigham Young University
For more information, please contact John Best at john.best@byu.edu.

Chicago, IL
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Whitney Young High School
For more information, please contact Michael Nearpass at michael@jazzinchicago.org.

Chapel Hill, NC 
Saturday, February 22, 2020
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Click HERE for more information.

Cincinnati, OH 
Saturday, February 22, 2020
University of Cincinnati
For more information, please contact Scott Belck at belcksb@UCMAIL.UC.EDU.

Philadelphia, PA 
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Temple University
For more information, please contact Daniel Levine at daniel.levine@temple.edu.

Orlando, FL 
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Dr. Phillips Center
For more information, please contact Ryan Simpson at ryan.simpson@drphillipscenter.org.

Greenwich, CT
Saturday, March 28, 2020
Greenwich High School
For more information, please contact jason_polise@greenwich.k12.ct.us.

Houston, TX 
Saturday, March 28, 2020
Texas Southern University
For more information, please contact Belinda Gardner at jbelinda@jazzhouston.org.

Edwardsville, IL 
Friday, April 3, 2020
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
For more information, please contact Rick Haydon at rhaydon@siue.edu or (618) 650-3900.

Mesa, AZ 
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Mesa Arts Center
For more information, please contact engagement@mesaartscenter.com or (480) 644-6540.

East Lansing, MI 
Saturday, April 18, 2020
Michigan State University
For more information, please contact Max Colley at colleym@msu.edu or (517) 432-4837.

*Each regional festival is uniquely its own. Please contact the festival directors for more information on specific locations.